“I want it!” “Well you aint getting it!” The Psyche of a Psychopath (according to Freud)

So in the last post I rambled about Psychopaths a bit, but I didn’t say anything about why people actually are Psychopaths.  So I’m choosing a concept that I know a lot about, and that is the Psychodynamic Approach.  And yeah that is Freud’s approach and believe me, I know how wacko he sounds with some of his theories, but I’m really interested in his views on the Psyche, which is what he used to explain Psychopaths.

Image

So everyone knows about the whole angel/devil on your shoulders thing, and even though Freud didn’t say that the psyche was made up of the angel and devil, it is probably the easiest way to explain it.

Here’s the lesson (have fun!)-

The psyche is made up of three parts, the Id (devil), Ego (you), and Superego (angel).

The Id is instinct, it runs off of the pleasure principle and you are born with it.

The Ego is rational, it runs off of the reality principle and it develops from birth.

The Superego is consequence, it runs off of the morality principle and develops from three years.

You are born only with the Id, and all it wants is to get what it wants, without any regard for consequences.  That is why all babies do is cry, moan, cry, and keep you up all night, because they want something, and they don’t care if it annoys you.

Then the ego comes along from birth and you develop as you grow a sense of the world around you, but that’s not really important to the whole Psychopath thing yet.

At around aged three the Superego comes along and it develops based on your same sex parent.  It begins to conflict with the Id, because the Id’s all like, “I see the kid’s toy, I want the kid’s toy, I’ll freaking HAVE the kid’s toy!”  Then the Superego’s like “Nah-uh, that’s that kids toy, we aint having it, mm’kay?!”  And then the Ego goes, “Waah!  I don’t know what to do!  I want the toy, but I know that kid will be upset if I take it!”

By the way the toy in question is a Furby.  Because I really want a Furby and am seriously debating on whether or not I should steal one from a little kid.

Yeah so onto the Psychopath bit.  It all depends on how developed the Superego is.  If it is overdeveloped, then it will lead to someone being neurotic, anxious and probably depressed.  Because even in simple situations, like procrastinating while studying, your brain would be screaming at your ego (which is basically you) to stop doing things you like and start doing things you need to do.  Meaning you’ll never have any fun, and always be stressed.

The opposite, when your Superego is underdeveloped, is Psychotic.  That is when your Id is much stronger than your superego.  It allows you to hurt other people, or do anything to get what you want.

Now (this is the important bit), to be a Psychopath, the Id overpowers the Ego, and there is absolutely no Superego.  This means that you feel you can get anything you want, whenever you want, and you feel that you are in the right to have it.  You will also hurt yourself to get pleasure, by taking drugs or alcohol abuse.  Really the only reason Psychopaths don’t go around killing everyone is because they still have the Ego (even though it gets overpowered), which is ruled by rationality and reality.  If a Psychopath didn’t have the Ego and only the Id then they would think “I see the kid’s toy, I want the kid’s toy, so I’ll kill the kid to get it (Still a Furby by the way).”  Another example would be if you wanted to run down the stairs for a random reason, and somebody went in front of you.  Instead of asking them to move, you’d just push them.  Even if it meant them flying down the stairs.

What a lovely thing the Id is.

So that’s it for this post, but I need to say two things.

The first is that not all Psychopaths are killers or commit crime.  When I talk about Psychopaths I’m talking about the ones who do commit crime.  So if you are a Psychopath who doesn’t commit crime, I’m not talking about you.  Although if you are a Psychopath who commits crime, I’d love to have a talk, just don’t unleash your Id on me.

Second, this is a Furby in case you don’t know what it is.

Image

Leave a Reply

